The Royal Servants, forerunners of Eulenspygel, were formed in 1965 in Swabia/Germany. Starting up with beat music, they gradually turned to Blues Rock, finally Progressive Psychedelic and released one album named "We". In early 1971, they were one of the first bands to write their songs in German.

So, the same year, they changed their name into Eulenspygel, and the first new release was named "2", recorded at the Maschen studio near Hamburg. The front cover caused a scandal because of a burnt chicken and was later substituted. This album documents the awakening of the german rock music on the way to its own identity. Musically they played on the same level as foreign bands including long instrumental parts, sometimes psychedelic coloured. Lyrics were full of social criticism. The lineup at this time was: Karl-Heinz Großhans (organ, vocals), Cornelius Hauptmann (flute), Ronnie Libal (bass), Günter Klinger (drums), Rainer 'Mulo' Maulbetsch (vocals, harmonica), Detlev Nottrodt (guitar, vocals) and finally Matthias aka 'James' aka 'Till' Thurow (guitar, violin).

Next LP "Ausschuss" was produced 1972 with the same members in London at the famous Apple Studios. It succeeds in capturing the early-70's progressive mood, sometimes angular sometimes mellow.

From 1975 on and after several lineup changes and unsuccessful attempts to find another record company, the group was a quartet with only one remaining original member Detlev Nottrodt. After years of not much activity their eponymous third album was recorded and released in 1979 with 10 songs. This was followed by "Laut & Deutlich" 4 years later. The last two records changed to mainstream conventional mellow rock with less creativity and none of their radical political lyrics.

Eulenspygel disbanded for good in late 1983.